do I castle?
the King two squares towards the Rook.
Above, the "short
castle" (castle with the King's Rook) is shown. There is
another castle move, the "long castle", which involves
the Queen's Rook. In the long castle move, the King also moves by
two squares (and the Rook travels a little bit more).
the castle move is legal, the Rook will also move.
The position after the short castle is shown above.
read carefully the rules, they explain when a castle move is
possible and when it is not.
If CHESS refuses
your castle move, then you can be certain that it is not legal at
the moment you play it. The rules will tell you why.
idea is that castling is only allowed as a quiet development move
in a quiet position.